First-Year Out-of-State Scholarships

Scholarships are awarded for incoming Fall Quarter students only.

Western Washington University is committed to providing an excellent education at an affordable cost. Our review and awarding process recognizes that each student’s experience cannot be summarized by a single number. Many Western awards are based on information provided in your Application for Admission, including grade point average (GPA), personal statement, essay, and activities resume. Western is a test-optional institution, therefore scores from the ACT or SAT are not included in the scholarship process.

Applicants are automatically considered for the following out-of-state scholarships: Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) Program and Western Award for Excellence (WAE). Eligible students may be offered one of these two scholarship opportunities; they can not be combined.

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) Program

Based on the information in your application for admission, no separate scholarship application is required.

The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program allows select non-resident students the opportunity to attend a participating university at a reduced tuition rate. Typically, the WUE program reduces non-resident tuition to 150% of the in-state rate for up to four years of study. The WUE will be calculated each year based on the annual in-state tuition rate. For the 2024-2025 academic year, the WUE award at Western is valued at over $15,000, which will significantly reduce tuition costs.

The WUE is our most prestigious non-resident scholarship and is highly competitive. Selection for this scholarship is based on information provided in the application for admission, including unweighted cumulative grade point average (GPA); minimum eligibility for the WUE is set at an unweighted GPA of 3.50.

First-year applicants who are residents of Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), the Federated States of Micronesia (FM), Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Marshall Islands, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, Republic of Palau, South Dakota, Utah, or Wyoming may be considered for the WUE at Western. A select group of our incoming first-year students from participating states are granted this tuition waiver based on their academic performance. Unlike many universities participating in the WUE program, we do not limit or restrict the majors students can pursue while enrolled at Western.

Western Award for Excellence (WAE)

Based on the information in your application for admission, no separate scholarship application is required.

For the 2024-25 academic year, the WAE is valued at $12,000-$15,000 for each year (for up to four years). The WAE is a highly competitive merit scholarship for incoming first-year students. Awarding of the WAE is based on the unweighted cumulative grade point average (GPA), and past recipients have had a minimum 3.00 GPA. Students are notified of their scholarship by mail after the point of admission.

Other Scholarship Opportunities

Multicultural Achievement Program (MAP) Scholarship

$2,000–$3,000 for up to four years

Requires an additional essay within your application for admission.

The Multicultural Achievement Program (MAP) Scholarship is for incoming first-year and transfer students whose applications demonstrate an ongoing commitment to access, diversity, equity and inclusion.

To be considered for the MAP Scholarship, submit an essay within the application for admission.  You will be asked to describe your involvement in any activities related to diversity, multiculturalism or support of any historically underrepresented community. You should also explain how you will actively contribute to the diverse campus community at Western. Alternatively, you can email a separate MAP Scholarship essay to

For this scholarship, we prioritize Washington state residents who have submitted their application for admission by the deadline.

National Merit Scholarship

Additional application materials may be required.

Western Washington University recognizes National Merit Finalists with a guarantee of a minimum scholarship award combination of $10,000 across all university scholarships, distributed over four years of consecutive undergraduate study. To be eligible, National Merit Finalists must email a copy of their National Merit Finalist letter or certificate verifying their finalist status to

Fairhaven College Scholarships

Several Fairhaven College Scholarships are awarded to first-year and transfer students who are new to both Western Washington University and Fairhaven College of Interdisciplinary Studies, and selection is based on financial need and academic ability. Please visit the Fairhaven College Scholarships webpage for more information.

Leadership, Diversity, and Other Scholarships

Separate applications are required.

Western has a number of additional programs that recognize a student’s experience and potential for success in leadership, service learning and program involvement. Western’s Distinguished Scholars programs combine students’ interests and experience with distinctive opportunities on campus and may also include a scholarship. Additional scholarships are available for continuing students through their academic department or involvement on campus.

We encourage you to check out the Scholarship Center to find more scholarship opportunities.